Right back at you Kirk

Friends, you all know that I consider the job I do a privilege, and that the opportunity for public service is what drives me. The brushes with stardom, money and power that come with a job like mine are often a burden that must be borne in order to achieve the goals that I have for this great nation of ours.

That said, I must admit that I was touched to receive a letter from Kirk Douglas praising my apology to the stolen generation. Kirk Douglas has been a hero of mine for some time and I can still fondly remember watching The Man From Snowy River at the Starlight Drive-In with Therese. So thanks Kirk, your words have humbled me and I hope that the new direction that we are charting for Australia can set an example for the rest of the world.

By the way, is there any chance you could get Michael and Catherine’s autographs for the kids? Just send them care of my office.

Leave a Reply

